Meals Shmeals

Hi Friends! This post is mainly for my mom friends. Yesterday, we had a discussion about meal planning. We were sharing all our ideas and the different recipes we love, but it is 2013, and we need links! So, I’m posting them all here. If you don’t care about meal planning, just ignore this one.
someecards.com - Do they really have to eat dinner every single night?
This woman changed my life with her google calendar meal planning tutorial! I have all our dinners on my phone, people, my phone!

How to Use Google Calendar to Create a Menu

Here are a bunch of our favorite go-to salads:

Cilantro Lime Chickpea Salad : Easy to make spinach/chickpea salad.

Mediterranean Grain Salad : Simple bulgar salad. Could omit goat cheese to make vegan.

Amazing Quinoa Salad : This one is our favorite. We even make this for dinner guests.

Easy Avocado Lime Black Bean Salad : Similar flavors as the Amazing Quinoa, but much easier to make.

Pineapple Goat Cheese Salad with Arugula and Walnuts : Okay, this is just yummy! My cousin made this one at Thanksgiving and it has been in the mix ever since. We have walnut allergies, so we use pecans. Still yummy!

Here are some of the crock pot freezer meals, I’ve made:

Crock pot freezer meals : We can vouch for the Chicken Taco Soup, Chicken Tortilla Soup, and the Sausage and Bean Supper.  We have tried them and liked them. I sent the Chicken Taco Soup over to my in-laws and they REALLY liked it (the secret is in the beer :)).

Some things we have liked in the breakfast realm:

Hootenanny : The taste of pancakes but you don’t have to do all that flipping. One pan.

 Rise and Shine Healthy Muffins  I bake two batches of these muffins and then freeze them. The kids pull them out and microwave them for breakfast or for an afternoon snack. I don’t know why I bother freezing them, they don’t last more than a couple of days.

Some other tips that have helped us:

Shredded Chicken: I buy a big thing of chicken breasts and put them in my crock pots with cut up carrots, celery, onion, a couple cloves of garlic and seasonings. At the end of the day, I shred the chicken and put it in freezer bags. We use this for quick dinners of nachos, chicken quesadillas, salsa verde chicken burritos. I also strain the broth and load my freezer up with a ton of chicken stock.

Loaded Baked Potato Soup : Really cost effective, crowd pleaser! It’s a guilty pleasure soup with cream cheese and bacon, but, man, is it tasty!

2 thoughts on “Meals Shmeals

Leave a Reply

