On the Lookout

Last week, I was able to dip my toes in my favorite ocean and sit in the sand while the waves came and went.  It’s a little disorienting to be landlocked once again.  I find myself speaking words of encouragement to my heart, saying what I say to my children, “There is always plenty to be grateful for.  It is our job to look for it.”  So, this Monday morning, Elizabeth Barrett Browning so beautifully speaks the sentiments of my heart:

Cheerfulness Taught By Reason

 I think we are too ready with complaint
In this fair world of God’s. Had we no hope
Indeed beyond the zenith and the slope
Of yon gray blank of sky, we might grow faint
To muse upon eternity’s constraint
Round our aspirant souls; but since the scope
Must widen early, is it well to droop,
For a few days consumed in loss and taint ?
O pusillanimous Heart, be comforted
And, like a cheerful traveller, take the road
Singing beside the hedge. What if the bread
Be bitter in thine inn, and thou unshod
To meet the flints ? At least it may be said
‘ Because the way is short, I thank thee, God. ‘

I hope your Monday is full of good gifts to be found!

Leave a Reply

