Beauty Will Rise

Through a really random course of events, I had the honor of catering for Steven Curtis Chapman this weekend.  It was really fun to shop and prayerfully make decisions about how to extend hospitality to both him, his band, and crew.  Of course, it was fun to meet him as well.  And, I only forgot the the dinner rolls!  An easy mistake to fix.  Thank you, Lord!

After all was said and done, and the all the dishes were washed, my husband and I sat on folding chairs in the kitchen and listened to the concert.  It was so lovely.  He wound life stories through decades of songs.  As he took us through the journey of years, we remembered high school and college days where SCC music was playing in the background.  Jon and I held hands as he sang I Will Be Here, one of his songs that was played at our wedding.  We squealed with excitement when he sang For the Sake of the Call.  I remembered belting out that song as a high schooler traveling through Europe, on a summer of missions.  It was such a sweet time and a lovely, random, gift from the hands of the Father.

In his honor, my Other People’s Words come from his album, Beauty Will Rise:

Out of these ashes

Beauty will rise

And we will dance among the ruins

We will see it with our own eyes

Out of these ashes

Beauty will rise

For we know joy is coming in the morning

In the morning

Beauty will rise

I can hear it in the distance

And it’s not too far away

It’s the music and the laughter

Of a wedding and a feast

I can almost feel the hand of God

Reaching for my face to wipe the tears away

And say it’s time to make everything new

Make it all new

This is our hope

This is the promise

This is our hope

This is the promise

It will take our breath away

To see the beauty that’s been made

Out of the ashes, out of the ashes

It will take our breath away

To see the beauty that He’s made out of the ashes, out of the ashes

–Stephen Curtis Chapman, Beauty Will Rise

By the way, if you want to see beautiful, sacrificial faith walked out, you should buy this album.  Regardless of what kind of music you listen to.  I have been balling my eyes out, reading the intro stories to the songs and listening to the lyrics.  Gorgeous stories of  the truth of hurt, God’s provision of faith, and the hope that is eternal.

2 thoughts on “Beauty Will Rise

  1. I just want everyone to know that I never squealed with delight. It was a great day though. Thanks for needing my help.

Leave a Reply

