some monday celebrations

Photo credit: here

It’s Monday morning, and I am starting a week of single parenting.  My husband is in another country.  This means I have to do things I don’t normally do.  Read: Kristy is spoiled rotten by her husband.

My list of things to celebrate so far:

I got the recycling to the curb in time!  I totally forgot to put it out last night, oops.

The timer on the coffeemaker worked!  I have tried to make this happen for the husband’s last 2 or 3 trips.  This is monumental, people.

We are on Spring Break!  Whew, no schoolbooks for this mama.

I could bore you with other things, like the fact that I remembered to get and take my own vitamin last night, but that would only show you what an awful grownup I am, and how much my husband has to keep me accountable to doing the normal things that adult human beings do.  So, I won’t bore you with all the ways that I have surprised myself over the last two days, instead I will tell you that my “Other People’s Words” today come from the apostle Paul:

“Don’t just pretend to love others.  Really love them.  Hate what is wrong.  Hold tightly to what is good.  Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other.  Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically.  Rejoice in our confident hope.  Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.  When God’s people are in need, be ready to help them.  Always be eager to practice hospitality.” Romans 12:9-13

Good words for a mom doing it on her own today.  It’s not just about me and my inability to make my own coffee. (:  Hoping to embrace real love today.  Also embracing lots of movie watching, fun sewing projects, and not cooking.

 

P.S.  Thank you so much for putting up with me and this blog.  I am still working on the appearance and content.  I am such a newbie, trying to figure things out.  I do have some exciting things planned and I’m working on them as we speak.  I’m just slow.  And, indecisive.  And, a perfectionist.

 

Leave a Reply

