Random things to love

1.  Trader Joe’s Mango Green Tea.  Seriously, run, don’t walk, to your neighborhood TJ’s.  You will thank me.

2.  Sunny days.  I know, I allow the weather to have too much control over my emotions, but don’t you feel like a superhero when the sun is shining on you? 

3.  This song. Divine Romance by Phil Wickham.  I will probably always love this song.  It speaks to the kind of intimacy I long to make my daily reality.  “For you, I sing.  I dance.  Rejoice in this divine romance.”  There are songs that usher me right into His presence, and this is one of them.  In the lyrics, there is a tangible remembrance, which urges me to give more of myself away to Him.   I always come away thinking, “Can I love like that?” Click on the title and you’ll see what I mean. 

4.  This quote from good ol’ Ozzie:  “No man is born either naturally or supernaturally with character, he has to make character.  Nor are we born with habits; we have to form habits on the basis of the new life God has put into us.  We are not meant to be illuminated versions, but the common stuff of ordinary life exhibiting the marvel of the grace of God.  Drudgery is the touchstone of character.  The great hindrance in spiritual life is that we will look for big things to do.  ‘Jesus wrapped a towel around his waist. . . began to wash his disciples’ feet.’ ” O. Chambers (Eek, thanks for the reminder O.C.  This is definitely a struggle.  Do you have daily habit ADD, like me?  Other than coffee drinking, I don’t think there is anything I do everyday.  Once, I realize I’ve done something two days in a row, I immediately tire of it.)

5.  (I’m tempted to tell you about another food item, but I will control myself.)  Graduations.  It is so great to witness accomplishment and potential mixed so beautifully.  I always get teary.  And, of course, there are the mortar boards to love.  Why do we make them look so silly on their special day?  It’s like a little hazing before they enter the real world.  “Here, stick this cardboard on your head.  Better yet, let’s hang a tassel from it.  There you go, now, fix up our messed up world!”

6.  (Okay, I can’t help it!)  Fruit Rollups.  You know what I’m talking about.  Can you eat a Fruit Rollup without smiling?  We rarely buy them, but whenever I get to eat them, I’m immediately taken back to squished paper bag lunches eaten while sitting criss-cross-applesauce on the Astroturf.  Then, I remember I’m a grown up, and realize that I am in charge of the whole box!  My freshman year of college, I bought Fruit Rollups every week.  The power went to my head a little bit.

7. The ocean.

I always feel a little lost when I’m far from it.

Leave a Reply

