Wonder

My favorite toy, the iPhone, has an audiobook app that I’m more than a little addicted to.  It’s so great!  I can go around doing all of my mundane chores, while catching up on all the classics.  My brain hasn’t felt this healthy for years. (You know the way your muscles feel after a really good workout?  Like that.)  So, I found one of my favorites, Orthodoxy, by G.K. Chesterton.  It was already on my summer reading list. (That is, if I ever found my copy amidst my father’s library books.)

Chesterton is amazing for so many reasons.  Of course, because he’s brilliant, and writes sentences that have to be read more than once to find all the different meanings.  But, my favorite reason for loving Chesterton is because of his childlike playfulness.  Just because of who he is, he completely refutes the idea that we must be stupid and turn off our intellect to have a childlike faith in God.  I know, lots of different people have done this, but until you read, or hear :), the way Chesterton poetically weaves words and ideas, you have not witnessed the playfulness of genius. 

I just get so excited when I read his words!  Here, read this:

“This at least seems to me the main problem for philosophers, and is in a manner the main problem of this book.  How can we contrive to be at once astonished at the world and yet at home in it?  How can this queer cosmic town, with its many-legged citizens, with its monstrous and ancient lamps, how can this world give us at once the fascination of a strange town and the comfort and honour of being our own town?”

“. . . nearly all people I have ever met in this western society in which I live would agree to the general proposition that we need this life of practical romance; the combination of something that is strange with something that is secure.  We need so to view the world as to combine an idea of wonder and an idea of welcome.  We need to be happy in this wonderland without once being merely comfortable.”

What do you think?  Don’t you love him?  Okay, that was just a teaser.  Don’t worry.  I will be quoting him a lot over the next few days.  I believe that the more we get to know our Maker, the more we realize we don’t understand, and this leads us to wonder.  I believe in wonder.  Wonder is one of my favorite tools.  It reminds me of my smallness, and my utter dependence.  It reminds me of God’s bigness, and unfathomable ability.  It is when I cease to wonder that I start to believe that my ability is enough.  And, I think we all know how small, and suffocating, our worlds have to become in order for us to feel like we can conquer them on our own.  Ha, this might be why I enjoy cleaning bathrooms so much!  That’s about the size of the world I can conquer on my own. 🙂

“The people brought children to Jesus, hoping he might touch them. The disciples shooed them off. But Jesus was irate and let them know it: ‘Don’t push these children away. Don’t ever get between them and me. These children are at the very center of life in the kingdom. Mark this: Unless you accept God’s kingdom in the simplicity of a child, you’ll never get in.’  Then, gathering the children up in his arms, he laid his hands of blessing on them.” Mark 10:13-16

One thought on “Wonder

  1. Cleaning bathrooms must be in our DNA! Did you know that it is one of my special assignments in CONNECTIONS? There is something about it that keeps us mindful of our size, and I mean not just the physical one.

Leave a Reply

